Saturday, July 7, 2018

Malaysia's Permanent Crt Of Arbitration members need replacing:Cecil "PI Bala" Abraham & Aziz "SPR" Mohd a bit too colourful

by Ganesh Sahathevan


The Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) is an intergovernmental organization located at The Hague in the Netherlands.

Members of the Court are potential arbitrators appointed by Contracting Parties. Each Contracting Party state is entitled to nominate up to four persons of “known competency in questions of international law, of the highest moral reputation and disposed to accept the duties of arbitrators” as “Members of the Court.” Members of the Court are appointed for a term of six years, and their appointments can be renewed.

In addition to forming a panel of potential arbitrators, the Members of the Court from each Contracting Party constitute a “national group,” which is entitled to nominate candidates for the election to the International Court of Justice (article 4(1) of the Statute of the International Court of Justice). The Members of the Court (along with the judges of the ICJ) are among a handful of groups entitled to nominate candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Malaysia has appointed only two members:
Tan Sri Cecil Abraham and Dato Abdul Aziz Mohamad.

Cecil is often in the news.Sarawak Report has the most recent report:
Murder Cover-Up Case Nets Najib, Rosmah and Lawyers Cecil Abraham & Shafee Abdullah

Aziz Mohamad is believed to the former head of the Election Commission.

No comments:

Post a Comment